114409756198585087

I figured since everyone else has been weighing in on Nancy Grace, that I should too. I didn’t get to watch the show, but I did read the transcripts and I’ve once or twice watched Nancy, so I have a pretty good idea of the tone of the interview. Rubel, I thought, did a great job answering the questions she asked, it’s just too bad that she didn’t give him any time to answer them. Once she realized that he wasn’t a crazy cultist, she cut to someone else and didn’t let him finish responding to her accusations. Basically, its tabloid journalism at best. Pretty much all news has become tabloid news. History’s repeating itself, really. If you read about newspaper wars in the early 20th century, newspapers were sold by bogus headlines, and the papers themselves were more gossip columns than legitimate news. Anyway, the sooner we realize that the news we are getting isn’t actually news, but infotainment, the better off we will be.

Speaking of infotainment, we had a severe weather outbreak in Tennessee last night. A massive tornado ripped through Dyersburg in West Tennessee, and killed something like 20 people. It was a pretty massive supercell, probably 25-35 miles in diameter, with significant rotation. The tornado stayed on the ground for 25 miles. My guess is that it was a strong F3 or a weaker F4. The storms moved into Middle Tennessee, and spawned several funnel clouds around Murfreesboro. I took a drive around midnight last night and parked south of town, right in the path of the rotating part of the thunderstorm. It was eerily calm, and I was watching attentively for a funnel. I saw the wall cloud, and right after it came through, several large pellets of hail fell from the sky. Two or three about quarter size. I decided to high tail it out of there, which turned out to be a good decision, cause the hail started falling hard core right as I left.

Anyway, I watched the weather all night, and, as I have come to expect, they made sure to scare everyone that they possibly could, regardless of where teh storms were headed. I’m so glad that I’m going into broadcast meteorology, cause these people have no idea what they are talking about.

One response to “114409756198585087

  1. I just want you to know that I think you did a terrific job on this websight.

Leave a Reply

