Being a Fiancee

I don’t think its really set in yet that Carrie and I are engaged.

I’m so used to calling her my girlfriend and now I’m calling her my fiancee, and it seems weird. I’m so excited about it, but its a weird transition. I realize that marriage is when you are officially joined for life, but for me, engagement is the beginning really. When I asked her to marry me, there were no thoughts in my mind about how this might not work out. I am fully certain it will work out, and we will do everything possible to keep our relationship healthy. I realize there are going to be hard times; times when we have vitriolic disagreements, times when that “lovey dovey” phase is gone, times when we might even question what we’re doing, but it really all comes down to this. Despite all those times that may and will come, I want to spend the rest of my life with Carrie. I want her to be my partner in everything. I want her to be the mother of our children. I want her to share with her in joy and grieve with her in sorrow. From now on, I’m no longer just Justin Mundie… I’ve given up independence in many ways. But all of that is worth it… I’m giving up freedom to gain something even more important; intimacy.

I’ve never been one that needed a whole lot of friends. I’d rather be around a few people that I’m really close with, and share my life with them. The thing I’ve always desired though is one person with whom I could share everything; a person that can be as close to me as is humanly possible, and I know I’ve found that in Carrie. She is the girl of my dreams… and I am so blessed that she’s agreed to share her life with me.

4 responses to “Being a Fiancee

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  2. i keep looking down at the ring and getting more and more excited. spending the rest of our lives together is sure to have its struggles, but they will be far outweighed by the joy we share. i’m ready to get the show on the road. love you.

  3. I have been a guest of this home page! ZiPiTiDuYa… ZiPiDiHey…

  4. Hi – enjoyed your home page!

Leave a Reply

