Memphis’s Downward Spiral

The city of Memphis is in crisis mode.

Since January 1, 2006, there have been over 90 homicides in the city limits. Many of the victims have been teenagers. Disbelief and dispair are two prevelant emotions as a city attempts to figure out what went wrong.

What went wrong in the City of Memphis began long before this year. We’re finally beginning to see the results of years of entitlements from the government, political promises, and the resulting breakdown of the African American family.

The welfare system in this country became a replacement for the black father. Things were hard, and men had trouble providing for their families… but they were struggling and doing it. But in the 40s-60s along comes big brother government to take care of the black family. Suddenly, the black father’s manhood is one upped by a check in the mail. He’s no longer needed at home, and that does numbers on the male psyche.

We are providers. That’s how we’re genetically coded. Its dehumanizing to be dependent on a government. Thus began the destruction of the black family.

When fathers started leaving, children lack an important part of their development. Discipline is lacking. Neighborhoods decline. Gangs step into the place that father’s should have filled. Drug abuse is rampant. Things get bad.

When crime gets bad in a city… people start moving away. White flight its called. I don’t know that its a matter of race so much as it is a matter of safety. Is it wrong? I don’t know. I’m entrusted with the protection of my family, so I’m not going to move into an area of town that we might get shot by a stray bullet.

So people are moving out of Memphis. Due to that, the tax revenue is plunging, which means fewer services and police officers, which means more crime and less aesthetics, which means more people leave. The downward spiral.

What are we supposed to do?

4 responses to “Memphis’s Downward Spiral

  1. White flight could be more accurately called middle and upper class flight. Much like with Katrina, those that can leave do; those that can’t have to stay and live with the consequences of both their own and other people’s mistakes.

  2. I moved from Memphis to Nashville about a year and a half ago. I moved here mostly for a job at Shop at Home, but also to get away from the armpit Memphis is becoming. Of course Shop at Home closed, but I have a better job that I work out of my home office. I could live anywhere, but since my wife is one of the good nursing schools up here, we are staying. We like it up here. People get along. Nobody seems to think they are better than others because of race gender or religion. I see no real reason to return to Memphis. This is unfortunate since it is still my home. It’s the place of my birth. It’s where i grew up. It tears my heart apart.

  3. Your quote: “I’m entrusted with the protection of my family, so I’m not going to move into an area of town that we might get shot by a stray bullet.” was absolutely right.

    Your responsibility as the head of your household far outweighs any responsibility to stay in a crime-ridden neighborhood.

  4. For those who leave Memphis based on the criminality, go ahead and leave. We don’t want you here. I’m not involved in the streets nor have I never been but I will say that country-ass Nashville is no better. Nashville is probably more prejudice than Memphis. Most of the people there are white and the black Nashvillians that do stay there, are Memphis transplants. You just have to know where/where not to go. If you stay out of the hood parts of Memphis, you shouldn’t have any worries.

Leave a Reply

