Leading Worship at Camp

This week I am leading worship at Highland Street Church of Christ’s summer camp. 4th – 12th graders stay for a week at a camp that we rent every summer. Its run entirely by people from Highland… counselors actually have to pay to be counselors, but that’s another story.

Anyway, I realized as I was up there that I have to be careful what I say. Since its been a while since I’ve been in the youth group, and at Highland in general, I forget how much my theology has changed in, especially, the past year. Last night I was praying about God’s Kingdom coming and how great it was that Jesus didn’t come just to die (He Lived to die rejected and alone) but he came and lived among us and showed us how we are to treat other people. Anyway, I don’t know if it was the clause that I dropped into the prayer about how its just just about not saying curse words or doing the “big” sins, but its about treating other people the way Jesus did, and loving the way he loved. I heard from a counselor that people were talking about that prayer. I don’t know whether good or bad, but they were talking. That kinda scares me. I don’t want to stray away from what I believe, but I don’t want to cause problems with people thinking I’m indoctrinating their kids with stuff they themselves don’t believe.

Anyway, we’ll see what happens.

5 responses to “Leading Worship at Camp

  1. LOL, that happens everytime I speak…hopefully. Don’t worry about offending people as much as loving God. The greatest gift you can give to the world is your own intimacy with God. Jesus offended a lot of people. He was a stumbling block and He became the capstone of all that we believe. Truth is, you are fallible and you are bound to say the wrong thing on occassion, and not always because you mean to.

  2. You’ll do awesome in that role! We just returned from a week of camp and the worship was a big highlight.

    I doubt you would offend by those words and they need to be said!

  3. Justin,

    I thought I would drop by and see what your blog is like. I read a few of your comments on Scott Freeman’s blog. I’ve been to Highland several times in the past when attending the Grad School.

    I appreciate your thoughtful words and service to the kingdom. If you are ever in my neck of the woods stop by my blog at http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine
    Milwaukee, WI

  4. Justin, I happened upon your blog completely by accident, but I remember you from English 1010 at MTSU. (I especially remember your essay about giving the ride to the crazy woman!) It’s neat to see how you’re doing. Nice blog.

  5. Thanks guys! I appreciate all of ya’ll for stopping by and for commenting.

    Bobby, I’ve been meaning to add you to my blogroll. I’ll do that tonight.

    JMG… I can’t get to your site since I’m at work right now, but I’ll check it out this afternoon

Leave a Reply

