Israel and the Middle East

I am a pessimistic person.

I know you probably hadn’t gathered that from any of my blog posts, but I tend to see the bad before I see the good. Its my personality, something I’d like to change, and have made attempts at, but in the end, I still see the worst. Or maybe the most dramatic. I don’t know.

But whether its the drama or the negative of the situation in the Middle East right now, all I can think about is that this is not going to end well.

I just can’t see peace being brokered between one group that would like peace but has seen firsthand the problems with a nation trying to conceed to a enemy that is hell bent on destroying them. This isn’t a conflict that can be resolved by concession. When one party’s desire is to completely annihilate the other party… there’s not much room for negotiation.

Can you imagine the Prime Minister of Israel asking the Prime Minister of Hamas (Or the head of Hezbollah) if they would stop blowing up people on buses if half of Israel were pushed into the Mediterranean?

We just need to pray that the hearts and minds of those that seek the destruction of Israel are changed… by what means, I don’t know. I do know that this will never end until the Arab World comes to the conclusion that the Israelis are human beings.

One response to “Israel and the Middle East

  1. Perhaps that would be a good thing. But perhaps it would also be good for the Israelis to recognize the human dignity of the Palestinians.

    It is a complicated mess and I agree that it will probably get worse before it gets better. We need to pray for the Shalom of God, not only on Jerusalem but on the Gaza, West Bank and Beirut.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine
    http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

