Primary Day

Today, I participated in a great american pasttime for something like 25% of our population; primary voting.

After sitting in line with my brother and mother for close to an hour, surrounded by the elderly in the Fisherville Civic Center, which as it turns out, is actually an old house that the walls were knocked out of, I approached the voting machine. Shelby County has stepped into the 21st century now. We have electronic voting. No hanging chads for those in extreme southwest Tennessee; election fraud now has to be much more sophisticaed… or well, I guess if the power goes out, that could cause issues.

Anyway, I voted in the Republican Primary for Senate and I voted for Bob Corker. I think he’s the only one that has a chance against Harold Ford Jr, and honestly, I don’t have a problem with Corker. He seems like a good guy, he’s not a fundamentalist christian, which basically means, he’s a libertarian. I wish we had more republicans who weren’t all about hating gay people and making sure abortion is illegal in any and all circumstances. I think the world would be a better place that way.

There were county wide elections today as well. Lots and lots of judges. I didn’t know any of the names. I pretty much just voted for whomever was at the top of the column or whoever’s name I remembered from signs along the side of the road. I did write in Samson (from the bible. Book of Judges) for circuit court something. I also wrote in Jesus Christ a couple times.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about voting as a christian. I’m not enough against it to not have gone today, but I’m not enough for it to get really serious and make sure I knew everything about every candidate… or to not write in Jesus and Samson.

3 responses to “Primary Day

  1. For the judges, I voted against all of them. I figure they don’t need to stay in office for too long and get too comfortable.

  2. Does Ford have any Democratic opposition?

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  3. Well, he did, but nothing significant. I think he got over 80 percent of the vote in the primary. It never was a race cause he had so much money (and celebrity status) I don’t even think he ran ads against his opponents. He’s saving it all for Corker. Should be interesting

Leave a Reply

