Myspace C of C Forum

I don’t know what to do with this place. Wendi Dawn just responded to my comment with this comment.

justinWrote:

Just because our name is in the bible doesn’t make us the “one true church”. The only reason our name is in the bible is because 200 years ago, barton stone and alexander campbell were sick and tired of denominational infighting and wanted to seek unity in christ, not in doctrines or creeds. They took the name “christians” or churches of christ or any other name that the believers in the bible were called. You can’t trace the lineage of the c of c back any further than the late 1700s

Wendi wrote:

I don’t understand you… You are a member of Christ’s church, yet you’re one of the biggest hypocrites I’ve ever come across and you even deny that Christ’s church is the one true church.. It’s absurd and sickening.. You need to do some serious rethinking. All you do is drag others into your warped thinking. And to think that the future of Christ’s church rests in the hands of the youth, and sadly many that think as you do.. I’m ashamed of the fact you call yourself a child of God and that you are going around “preaching” to others… It truly worries me and I am worried about your soul’s state..

Really, she just said that. She’s had two email correspondences with me, and came to that conclusion. And I didn’t even tell her I don’t believe in hell.

13 responses to “Myspace C of C Forum

  1. My, my, my! That’s the attititude of many of the C of C people I’ve met in my life and one reason I never tried out a C of C church.

    And you don’t believe in hell either? You’re just a little rebel heretic aren’t you!

    🙂

  2. Crazy but not surprising at all.

    Of course, look at it from her perspective. She has certain beliefs and actions that must be met so that someone can go to heaven and not hell. Shouldn’t she be rallying with all her might against anything that will screw this up for others?

  3. Michael Gossett

    Is she not causing more division in “Christ’s church…the one true church” by declaring you as “out” and herself as “in”? It looks like her understanding of God is defined by who she excludes. Perhaps she should, as our author McLaren writes, look not at either end of the line, but above the line. (By the way, Jordan let me borrow your copy of “A New Kind of Christian” and I loved it. I’m making my way through “The Story We Find Ourselves In.”)

    Oh. And one thing that stood out to me. A juxtaposition of her words, if you will:

    “…you’re one of the biggest hypocrites I’ve ever come across and you even deny that Christ’s church is the one true church.. It’s absurd and sickening.. You need to do some serious rethinking…”

    and then:

    “I’m ashamed of the fact you call yourself a child of God and that you are going around preaching to others…”

    Outrageous.

    P.S. I don’t believe in hell or in the idea that anyone could ever go there, if it did exist. I’m still working on being able to explain why, but it has something to do with God’s infinite mercy. That’s why I am excited about reading some more McLaren.

  4. In the wise words of one Snoop Dogg, “When the haters come…*looks to his shoulder, then brushes his shoulder with his hand*…You just gotta shrug em off”

  5. Michael,

    Glad you’re enjoying Mclaren. Can I have it back sometime. I guess Jordan could give it to me when he gets up to Nashville… or is he all ready here?

    Ben

    Gotta love some snoop dogg.

  6. Hi all!

    What do you think about this? When it happens?

  7. Hello

    What do you think about this? When it happens?

  8. Hi

    What do you think about this? When it happens?

  9. I can find many things that I look for here! Thank you very much!

  10. Извините, что не по теме форума.
    Сегодня кто может, давайте соберемся у театра «На Таганке», а кто не в Москве, давайте просто помянем его вечером рюмочкой коньяка.
    Ему исполнился бы 71 год.

  11. я вот что скажу: восхитительно..

  12. Hi I just registered to this devoted place justinmundie.wordpress.com . I would like to ask for your opinion.
    Can you tell me please do you make money with forex and if yes what forex broker do you use?
    Do you know of some recommended ones?

    Thanks in advance for your answers.

    P.S. Sorry if I have posted to wrong category this but as you can see I am newbie here.

Leave a Reply

