Mere Discipleship

I’ve got forty pages left in Lee Camp’s Mere Discipleship, a book I’ve been meaning to read for the last 8 months or so. Its amazing. Life changing. But, it also scares the hell out of me.  (No pun intended)

I don’t know how I can follow Jesus. Lee Camp is right in so many ways and I am wrong in nearly every way. I want to follow Christ, but I am definitely the rich young ruler, turning away because I have great wealth. Or I’m the guy who’s father died, and I want to bury my father. Basically, I don’t know that I am willing to forsake everything for the cause of Christ. I can’t give up Carrie, my family, or my friends. I might could give up some material things, but I don’t know that I could live in poverty in order to follow Jesus.

This is a hard teaching. Who then can be saved?

3 responses to “Mere Discipleship

  1. Consider that being a disciple has more to do with what you ARE than what you DO. Jesus said (Mt 11:28-30) to take His yoke, and that He will give REST. He is “gentle” and His burden is “light”. His yoke is not meant to confer unnecessary pain, but to convey a Master-servant relationship in which the Master leads and the servant follows. The Holy Spirit wants to produce love, joy, peace, but in order to do that unhindered, He has to be in charge of the development of the believer. Hence the need for the yoke. See http://www.disciplers.org for a more in-depth explanation.

  2. You might want to check this out. Lee Camp interview included in this episode.

    The Urban Achiever Show with Bill Power – Episode 1 – Religion & Politics

  3. I greatly appreciated this book. I recently discovered Ray Vander Laan who gave me a powerful new perspective on the word discipleship as it would have been understood by Jesus’ disciples and listeners.
    http://community.elevatorup.com/Brix?pageID=8854

Leave a Reply

