Zoe Conference 2006

The conference was good this year. I enjoyed getting to see my future in-laws, as well as some other folks I haven’t seen in quite a while. The worship was uplifting, and while I didn’t like the cd to begin with, its starting to grow on me. I still don’t think its at the level of In Christ Alone or Ancient Future, but its definitely better than anything Hallal has put out (imho).

On Saturday, as I was returning from lunch, I was greeted by Phil Wilson, who invited me into a conversation he was having with Amy Westerman’s semi famous sister Nancy French. Nancy is an author and political commentator on the right side of the eisle. Phil had been goading her into a debate when he asked me to approach the table and join in the conversation because ” you [I] used to be as conservative as they come.” I realized quickly who I was talking to , as I’d just read Amy’s blog a few days ago that mentioned Nancy’s book. Nancy is a solid debator who knows what she believes and why, but we definitely differ on things. I imagine that a couple months ago we would have agreed more, and definitely a year ago we would have been on nearly the same page. But, as most of the readers of this blog know, I’ve been on a transformational journal in the last year.

Anyway, to make a long story short, as soon as I entered into the discussion, Phil took off leaving me alone with Nancy and a woman who turned out to be the lovely JettyBetty. Nancy and I had some good discussion (with JB as a moderator) and decided to part ways. I hope she comes around here some to leave some thoughts, because while I disagree with her, I believe her heart is in the right place (can’t know for sure) but I’m going to trust that that’s the case. I love discussing things with smart people who disagree with me. Its very easy to have a myopic view of things if you don’t ever hear the other side (or sides) of issues.

Anyway, topics coming in the next few days:

How I went from right wing evangelical to a partyless disciple

and

Homosexuality: Nature, nurture, or both?

Hope there will be some discussion!

14 responses to “Zoe Conference 2006

  1. OK, I STRENUOUSLY disagree with the goading comment. I seriously was looking for dialogue, which she and I eventually had.

    I also wasn’t really trying to leave, I just wanted a seat in Gary Halloway’s class.

  2. goading was her word not mine.

    I should have stressed that I didn’t mind that you left me. it was just funny the way it worked out. You call me over, stay for two minutes, then jet.

  3. Hmmm. She used that word? Well, I’m sorry she felt I was “goading her into a debate.” I was trying to have a conversation. It’s unfortunate that she perceived it otherwise.

  4. Oh, Phil always goads. He can’t help it. He loves a good argument, um, debate, um, conversation. 🙂

  5. Hey Gentlemen! Phil, I said that you were provoking me because you kept saying that my husband had gone to the White House to meet with “pure evil” — Dick Cheney. LOL.

    I thought it was all in good fun, Phil. And we’ll always have Battlestar.

    Nancy

  6. He did shoot an 80 year old man in the face….

    j/k Its bird hunting. It happens. A lot.

  7. Frakkin’ A on Battlestar, Nancy. And I was joking (in the Daily Show manner) aboot Rove and Cheney being pure evil.

    Partially? Now there’s another discussion for another day… heh heh heh.

  8. I feel like the guy leaves a movie and comes back and has missed THE moment. Sorry I didn’t hear the entire conversation… you know I was trying to worship God or something like that. Now I have to piece it together from Phil and Nancy and now Justin. I did hear and can testify to the “pure evil” comment. And Justin, just be glad you missed the “frak-nerd” moment at the beginning. I figured any debate that occured afterward was tainted by the self confessed love for Battlestar.

  9. Haha… battlestar gallatica, I must be too young or something. Or, not a total dweeb.

    J/k phil and nancy.

    Thomas, were you at the table at all when I was there?

  10. no, I had exited earlier.

  11. Hmmm…….
    I thought I was agreeing with you???
    Please enlighten me!

  12. I mistyped. It was early Sunday morning that I wrote it. Its been fixed JB

  13. Thanks for the shout-out. I will try to keep up with your blog as best as I can! Just from the little reading on your blog I’ve done today, I can tell you’re an honest seeker and that encourages me. I know it can be scary to give up political allegiances and religious assumptions that you’ve always had, but God is always trying to do a new work in each of us.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’ll tell Jason hi for you next time I see him.

  14. OOOO I got what you are saying now!!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

