Francisco’s Speech

A little Atlas Shrugged for you to digest. Warning, lengthy, but worth it. If you haven’t read the book, it should be required reading for everyone.

One response to “Francisco’s Speech

  1. That is my favorite passage of any book period. When people come over and I figure out they haven’t read Atlas Shrugged, I make them read that passage, but I’ve done it so much that the book naturally opens to that spot.

    I think a lot of Christians would bristle at the spot in the speech where it seems to turn its nose up at the Biblical idea that the love of money is the root of all evil. I argue, having read all of her fiction and just about all of her non-fiction, that you have to give her a little slack whenever you read her slam Christianity. She grew up in a time when being Christian meant being dumb, illogical, mystical, and collectivist, which were all characteristics she loathed in people. Also, her understanding of the Bible and Jesus Christ was marginal at best, so please take this passage for what it is worth and don’t write off the whole thing just because of that remark.

    I tend to think that her point here is the same point as Jesus’ when he was talking about the same thing, but they are said different ways. If someone really challenges me here, I may write a lengthy reply explaining why.

Leave a Reply

