Pacifism and Faith

I claim to follow Christ’s example of non violence. I know all the arguments. I know that I shouldn’t fear death for me or my family because I believe in the Resurrection. But more often than I’d like to admit, I find myself wanting retributive violence.

I opened up Drudge Report this morning and saw that Iran has captured 15 british military personnel, claiming they were in Iranian waters, while the British claim they were in Iraqi waters. The first thing I thought was, “Somebody needs to blow these guys to smithereens and I know the US will do it if Iran doesn’t let the troops go.”

I heard earlier this week about how men with ties to radical Islam are getting licenses to drive school buses, and some are currently driving school buses on this nation. I’m not gonna lie to you, when I think about terrorists taking school buses full of innocent children, it pissed me off. I want those people to die. And that’s not Christlike.

Does anyone else struggle with these feelings?

Leave a Reply

