I don’t just hate John Edwards…

but its hard to ignore these stories. They just keep coming down the pipe. The guy, and his wife, are bad people

They use class warfare to try and win votes, but they will help the poor as long as they don’t have to see or talk to them. That disgusts me.

Elizabeth Edwards afraid of neighbor

She has never met `rabid Republican,’ but wouldn’t be nice

MIKE BAKER

Associated Press

Elizabeth Edwards says she is scared of the “rabid, rabid Republican” who owns property across the street from her Orange County home — and she doesn’t want her kids going near the gun-toting neighbor.Edwards, the wife of Democratic presidential candidate John Edwards, particularly recalls the time neighbor Monty Johnson brought out a gun while chasing workers investigating a right of way near his property. The Edwards family has yet to meet Johnson in person.

“I wouldn’t be nice to him, anyway,” Edwards said in an interview. “I don’t want my kids anywhere near some guy who, when he doesn’t like somebody, the first thing he does is pull a gun out. It scares the business out of me.”

But Johnson defended the occasion he brandished a gun, saying those on his land didn’t have the proper approval.

“I use the gun for protection, and I considered that an appropriate time,” Johnson said. “Sometimes you have to take drastic measures.”

Edwards views Johnson as a “rabid, rabid Republican” who refuses to clean up his “slummy” property just to spite her family, whose lavish 28,000-square-foot estate is nearby on 102 wooded acres.

Johnson, 55, acknowledges his Republican roots. But he takes offense to the suggestion he has purposefully left his property, including an old garage he leases for use as a car shop, in dilapidated condition.

Johnson said he has lived his entire life on the property, which he said his family purchased before the Great Depression. He said he’s spent a lot of money to try and fix up the 42-acre tract.

“I have to budget. I have to live within my means,” Johnson said. “I don’t have millions of dollars to fix the place.”

Johnson, who has posted a “Go Rudy Giuliani 2008” sign on a fence just 100 feet from the entrance to the Edwards’ driveway, has criticized Edwards for the scale of their nearby home. The property and home, which includes an indoor basketball court, an indoor handball court and an indoor pool, is valued at $5.3 million.

The Edwardses are still putting the final touches on the property, which they purchased in 2003.

“I thought he was supposed to be for the poor people,” Johnson said. “But does he ever socialize with any poor people? He doesn’t speak to me.”

Johnson said he has put his property on the market, in part blaming the high property taxes for his decision to leave. He also wants to move for another reason.

“I don’t want to live somewhere where someone’s always complaining about me,” he said.

6 responses to “I don’t just hate John Edwards…

  1. I wouldn’t want to be around someone that waved guns either. I believe there’s more to this “story” than meets the eye. I’m checking into it some more.

  2. I don’t agree with what the guy did either… but you have to realize that he’s a poor old country guy, and property rights are important to people who have little more than that. My issue isn’t so much with her disdain over him confronting surveyors on his properly (supposedly without permission) with a gun, its that she said, “I wouldn’t be nice to him anyway” and and that she thinks he’s keeping his property “slummy” to spite her. Would she ever say that to a poor inner city black family? I imagine this guy doesn’t have a whole lot of money (how many people with money do you know that have a repair garage on their property and have owned and lived on the same land for as long as he has?) and Elizabeth Edwards is so full of herself that she thinks this guy is purposefully keeping his property in disarray to make her mad.

    You can look into it, but I imagine that what’s going on is this. The Edwards say they’re for the poor, but they don’t want to associate with them, and definitely don’t want them living across the street.

  3. Great post Justin. Once again we see the true “Two America’s” come to life.

  4. I so wish I could buy that guy’s house… 🙂

  5. I don’t believe Elizabeth Edwards is full of herself. I’ve never seen any indication of that. Not associate with poor people? I totally disagree – they (especially John) WERE poor people! There are some people that live across the road from me . . . don’t know how much money they have and I don’t care. They’re trash. Plain and simple. I wish they’d move. I wish I never had to interface with them. I wish I never had to see them. Maybe the Edwards’s feel the same way.

  6. So, its ok if you don’t like poor people if they are “trashy” Belinda? Hmm, I guess you’re right… I do remember Jesus turning away some people at the banquet table he is preparing because they were trashy.

    Maybe you and Mrs. Edwards both hate poor people?

Leave a Reply

