Irony

Alanis should put this in a song

This is probably gonna be controversial, but when have I ever shied away from a fight?

While I think what Vick did was abhorrent, disgusting, etc, I cannot say I’m glad that he’s going to jail.

Suspended from the NFL, sure. Lost all his endorsements, happy. But I cannot be happy that he was convicted because I believe the law he was convicted under is absolutely ridiculous.

I’m sure you’re wondering how in the world I can feel this way, right? Vick electrocuted, strangled, and drowned dogs.

But there is something that is key in this whole discussion. Dogs are not human beings.

They are wonderful companions, they are docile animals, they are “man’s best friend”.  But when it comes down to it, they are property.  And it may be a little libertarian of me, but I feel like private property is pretty sacred in a free society, and our government should either protect it, or get rid of it.

Not to mention, what is the difference between what Vick did, and say, slaughtering cattle? The food idea?

Does this not seem to be the slippery slope that PETA has been waiting for?

8 responses to “Irony

  1. I’m with you on this one.

    Dogs, cats, rats, chickens and insects are NOT equal to humans.

  2. I too agree that PETA is going to have a hey day comparing all of this to how our beef, pork, and chicken makes it to our table on a regular basis. Just glad I didn’t pick him in my fantasy draft.

  3. mmmm Im hungry. You know we will probably eat some dog while we are in China.

  4. “They are wonderful companions, they are docile animals, they are “man’s best friend”. But when it comes down to it, they are property.”

    Bet you thought it was great when the same applied to black people…

  5. I wasn’t alive 150 years ago, so I can’t accurately know what my viewpoint would have been in that culture. I’d like to believe that I would have stood with the abolitionists. But no one can know for sure what effects that culture would have on their development.

    That being said, dogs aren’t human. I think that’s pretty clear. Maybe some thought it was equally clear that black people weren’t human. I don’t know the answer to that.

    However, I do know that your comment hasn’t furthered this dicussion at all. Can you make a legal case for dogs not being property?

    I know its an emotional topic. I’ve had dogs and cats all my life, and I love them to death. But they are property. They aren’t human beings. Black people were and are. While some may not have believed that at the time, it was true and is true currently. It is not true that dogs are humans. That’s not going to change.

  6. You just wait until the impending dog civil rights debate. The million pooch march is going to descend upon the washington mall.

  7. What difference does it make to debate where animals are on the totem pole? Doesn’t the fact that they feel pain like you do mean anything?

    If there is anything good about the Michael Vick story, it is that there is an emerging increased awareness about animal cruelty and animal fighting. There is so much anger about this issue. If we channel it into a positive direction, hopefully, something good can come of it. However…

    I watched Vick’s public apology with my little son who USED TO wear Michael Vick jerseys to school. It is disturbing to think a certain percentage of the population is honestly going to be swayed by Michael Vick’s “enlightenment” carefully crafted by his overpaid attorneys. Call me a cynic, but I don’t believe a man who has been allegedly torturing animals since childhood coincidentally has a religious epiphany as a result of getting caught and losing his job. I hope I am wrong.

    I think it is a sad commentary that we, as a culture, are using the Vick story to compare “What’s worse?” “What’s worse”, we ask, “carelessly fathering illegitimate children, or dogfighting?”. “Dogfighting or gambling?” “Dogfighting or rape?” “Dogfighting or racism?” “Dogfighting or hateful nationalism?” “Dogfighting or (fill in the blank)….?” The comparisons to dogfighting have been endless.

    Dogfighting is one more piece of evidence our country is in need of a spiritual transformation (please note I said spiritual and not necessarily religious). Animals are sentient beings – they feel pain, and they suffer, just like we do. They are not more important, or less important than human beings, but like human beings, they are important, too.

    Dogfighting pits one dog against another until one of them dies. The survivor gets his flesh torn off, ears ripped off, eyes pulled out, etc., and the reward for being “a winner” is to writhe in pain until the next fight. Enough said. The pictures make my flesh crawl. The losers are tortured, beaten, starved, electrocuted or drowned. For what? Because these poor creatures were unlucky enough to be born a dog!

    Every major faith teaches its followers to be responsible stewards of animals and the Earth. Please help us get the word out that caring for animals, just like caring for people, is an important part of just being a decent person and citizen. If we make this a priority, there will be no more dogfighting horror stories, and no more pointless comparisons of evils. Let us all rise, together, to be better people than we are today, shall we?

    Chaplain Nancy Cronk
    Founder, http://www.AnimalChaplains.com

  8. So I know its a bit late to chime in again on this one, but the other day we were riding the bus and I saw a little restaurant that had advertisements for chicken, fish, and yes you guessed it golden retriever.

Leave a Reply

