Bad Professors

My wife has an evil professor.

I know that I’m one prone to exaggeration, but let me assure you that this is as damn near objective as I can be.

When Carrie first told me that he teacher was mean, I wondered how bad it was. I don’t like people mistreating my wife, and it can get me pretty steamed, but I said just keep at it.

That was a mistake. I wish now that she’d dropped the class.

This professor has berated Carrie to the point of tears twice all ready this semester.

Twice. And school hasn’t even been in session a month.

What does this teacher do?  Lets get some quotes from her reviews at mtsureview.com

Now on these questions your last name is beside the one or the ones that you are going to be answering. Let me tell you this…if you don’t have the answer she wants or if you have a totally different opinion then you are just WRONG and she will make you look like a total idiot infront of the whole class. By the middle of the semester there were only a total of about 8 people left in my class. 

DO NOT TAKE THIS TEACHER. If you do, you are a glutton for punishment and must be beaten relentlessly until you decide that you want to actually pass. She will not help, she makes an effort to embarrass you publicly in class, and she does not even remember what assignment you are supposed to be working on. I can go on for much longer, but I get angry even thinking about her as a paid employee of the MTSU Professorial staff. My first day, there were about 30 people, but by day 8, there were about 8 left. I am an intelligent human being and hold defensible, reasoned opinions, but I believe that she will disagree with anyone for the sake of belittling them in front of other people.

Please do yourself (and your GPA) a favor and stay far away from this woman. I would set myself on fire before I would take her class again! We were never sure exactly what she expected from us. She even refused to answer our questions. She is the rudest and the worst teacher I have ever known. I don’t know why she teaches- she obviously doesn’t want to educate or help students

 She is very rude and has no respect for anyone. She DEMANDS to be called DR. but you better believe you are called nothing but by your last name. She is very demeaning and is capable of making anyone feel stupid….Two or three students went to the dean of her dept. and like many others in the past was told to keep written records of what she did they didn’t approve of and like all other times nothing was done.

And this is the kicker, from a mid thirties student…

I have completed 75 hours of classes in one year, and was able to keep my GPA at a 4.0 (that is until this class). Thanks to Jackson, my GPA is now destroyed even though I went to the writing center EVERYDAY, used the smart-thinking website, and also received tutoring from a literature major that graduated Valedictorian of her class–all of that was still not good enough. The writing center’s staff was also at their wits-end trying to decipher exactly what Jackson wanted. Nothing was ever good enough; it was a nightmarish experience; it literally made me sick. It does absolutely no good to complain to the English Department about how Jackson treats her students–don’t waste your time. She has tenure, which apparently gives her the right to treat her students with disrespect and even harassment. 

All of these complaints echo nearly everything Carrie has said. And I tell you what, it bothers me how disrespectful this woman is. Being a difficult (or even nearly impossible) class to pass is one thing, but the blatant disrespect this woman shows other human beings, in my opinion, borders on harassment and verbal abuse.

Any lawyers out there have any ideas on what can be done? I’ve tried calling the English Department and the told me that it “wasn’t my problem.” I almost said bulls*** but decided against it and just told them that was a load of crap. I’m paying for school, its my wife, it becomes my problem as well. They told me Carrie has to go talk to the teacher about it. Yes, the student that’s afraid of the teacher (for good reason) should go talk to her… that sounds like its going to accomplish something. And apparently the department knows what’s going on… it sounds like plenty of people have complained and were told the same thing (which is also what I was told) she’s tenured and has the right to conduct class however she wants. Apparently that includes verbal abuse and harassment.

So, should I lawyer up? Record the professor and go to the media? MCB… can I get some help on this?

13 responses to “Bad Professors

  1. I suggest you send an email to Dean John McDaniel. mcdaniel@mtsu.edu

    I have never seen worse reviews on MTSU review.

  2. I can assure you that anyone who makes it through this professor’s class will have tremendous bragging rights and can also say that he or she learned a lot. Everything I know about effective argument, I learned from this professor.

    Having said that, I will say that I avoided her class until graduate school. I even avoided her in the hallways. When I did take her class, I just made up my mind not to let anything she said break my spirit. I made a D on the first essay that I wrote for her–she had nothing good to say about it. It’s sort of funny–on my last essay, she wrote “effective use of sources” and my classmates and I rejoiced that someone in the class had finally received such a high compliment on an essay. I ended up with a B in the course, and I was glad to get that grade.

    Today, she and I get along fine, and that’s not just because I’m faculty, because there’s plenty of faculty that she doesn’t get along with.

    As I write this, I’m reminded of a movie and TV series from the 70’s called The Paper Chase about a guy in law school and his tyrannical professor played by John Houseman. He and this English professor are quite similar.

    • I wish I had seen this 4 years ago, but for those who run across this, I post this for the sake of common sense. If you had any integrity, you would stop sucking up to this woman who is on a power trip at the expense of the reputation of the school and the GPAs of the students. In no other profession would an employee be permitted to behave so unprofessionally. These students may have no other choice, but to be subjected to this monstrosity. WHY BOTHER TEACHING IF YOU DON”T WANT TO DO IT?!?!?!?! Why do schools keep these disasters employed? If you can’t be a voice of reason in your department, then don’t post unhelpful blogs. I’m sure it is a great comfort to the students who are putting their hearts into one of her classes, only to be torn down mentally and emotionally and wrung out of every last drop of enthusiasm for the subject, that you now have a good relationship with her. What a relief. I’m sure they can see the light at the end of the tunnel now! Even Hitler had friends.

  3. gasp!…
    she was nice today.
    something must have finally broken through all the layers of mean.

  4. Sometimes she’s actually very funny, if you can imagine it!

  5. Frankly, the department is right: it’s not your business to fix it, and in fact, if you did try, you might make it worse for Carrie. Teacher/student relations are teacher/student relations, not teacher/husband or teacher/parent relations. You do Carrie no favors by trying to intervene.

  6. All individuals here must realize college is a waste of time, unless science is the pursuit in this silly “education” game (aka largest scam in existence today that flat out steals money and time from students)

  7. i agree with that last comment specifically. College is for teachers, not for the students these days.

  8. Don’t complain just keep your wife’s encouragement up. i know this is an old site and the comment over due, but this won’t be the first or last horrid prof she encounters. If you complain while she attends there .. it will do nothing but blackball her for other departments she will have to encounter before she leaves.
    Even seeking help can be traumatizing as I have learned. I needed help and got blackballed. If other students learn of this awful class and or other students drop this course.. then the university will get rid of her. Two profs that treated me and others poorly are losing hours and income thanks to their awful abusive personalities. Inability to retain professors is one good way to get fired or laid off from any institution regardless of tenure :D!

  9. excuse me the last sentence was suppose to read retain student population. .. Currently, the dean that didn’t help me has lost his job, the two profs that got me blackballed and stigmatized are now facing reduced hours. Other students won’t take the class and other profs won’t help with collaborations. They don’t want to be associated with profs that students are afraid to risk their gpa’s on.

  10. “They don’t want to be associated with profs that students are afraid to risk their gpa’s on.”
    It’s encouraging to read that there can be some success for good people.
    Unfortunately, this is not a viable tactic my situation. If a student is willing to make cr@p, they’ll get a decent grade.
    I had higher ethical standards, and eventually was deliberately persecuted.
    I’ll watch to see if a different instructor teaches the course, but as of now this malignant ‘person’ is an obstacle to finishing the program.

    btw, I can find very little about staff/faculty abuse of students via web searches. I assume this receives little attention, relative to faculty or management abusing faculty?

    “All individuals here must realize college is a waste of time, unless science is the pursuit in this silly “education” game (aka largest scam in existence today that flat out steals money and time from students)”
    “i agree with that last comment specifically. College is for teachers, not for the students these days.”

    IMO, you’re not far off. Actually, the “educracy” is in cahoots with “professions”, in order to reduce competition and bury “dissenters/losers”.

  11. I met a professor like her during my Underground degree program. Different than the majority of the people that took her class, I did very well in it. But, yes, she was tyrannical. Years later, when I was attending my second Master degree program, I met a former undergraduate classmate and asked about this teacher whereabouts. Well, when he finished telling me what had happened to her, I became paralyzed in fear and in total disbelieve. It seems to be, that she was murdered after she was tortured with electricity, gang raped, and finally burned alive. This happened 29 years ago, and until this day no one has been charged with the crime. My guess is that probably the homicide detectives in charged of the investigation, as well as, the potential prosecution witnesses were also former students of her, and they don’t really care about her.

Leave a Reply

