Struggling With Faith

This post may be the best religious post I’ve read since I’ve been blogging. I don’t know that I’ve ever related to something such as this. Granted, I’ve never left church, and I’m a minister now, but I completely understand where he’s coming from, cause I’ve felt, and still feel, some of those same exact things.

Check it out and let me know what you think.

H/T to Phil for linkage 

5 responses to “Struggling With Faith

  1. Wow…interesting post considering what happened at small group last night. I dared to say that we should consider that the story of Noah was a myth and that God’s omniscience is limited in that He can’t possibly know the outcome of our actions and still have us retain free will. That wasn’t taken well.

  2. Yeah, that’s openness theology… kinda. Greg Boyd is an evangelical who has flirted with it…

  3. WOW…I loved reading that story, thank you for posting it…it hits close to home

  4. He’s where I was, oh, 28 years ago. I haven’t been back to Church since post-teen years.

    But I still have belief in God, a strong anti-atheist streak, and my faith isn’t really shaken.

    I just reject the socialization that comes with Churching. Because of teh hypocrisy.

    (And my great-uncle was an Elder of the Hillsboro Church of Christ, so my black sheepiness is especially poignant to certain family…) ;D

  5. I hear ya serr8d. I think. I assume you’re talking about how you can’t be open about how you live, for fear of complete rejection by others, so you have your church self and your regular self?

    Like how if you were to tell someone that you have no qualms with drinking, you would be run out of town?

    You’re right. Fear of judgment screws people up. And creates a two faced individual. Definitely not what the gospel was supposed to do.

Leave a Reply

