Live blogging the oscars

Jon Stewart is awesome. Gaydolf Titler. Yes.

Alexandra Byrne is scary.

We’re on dvr, so fast forwarding through commercials. I’m kinda hungry. Commercials would be good to make some food. But I want to make breakfast. Oh well.

Is something wrong with Clooney? He can’t talk.

BTW, if you didn’t see Enchanted. You should. It was pretty amazing.

Nostalgia is the best. But the HD tv sucks for watching old tv clips.

Insert Christopher Reeve joke here…

WTF?????? Persepolis is like “Picasso does Puberty”

This guy’s jokes are lame. If you aren’t a comedian, you probably shouldn’t talk besides saying thank you.

I am so glad, after that short clip, that I didn’t go see Norbit. If that was a funny part, I can’t imagine what the rest of the movie was like.

There was convo over at Scott’s place about Kristen Chenoweth singing one of the songs from Enchanted tonight. I know why know. Amy Adams is decent, but her range isn’t that great.

CGI blows my mind.

Weird. Looks like Rob Lowe just stood up to give the Goldan Compass guys a handshake. Edit: Why is Rob Lowe there to begin with?

Hopefully nothing funny happens. I’ve got to make some food. Breakfast it is.

Back, and yeah, there’s no way Amy Adams could have done what Chenoweth did. That’s Broadway stuff she was having to perform, and you need a pro, not a kinda decent singer. Though I will say Amy Adams is prettier than Chenoweth. But we all know that Sorkin was proud. And probably wishes he could have written an episode of Studio 60 about it.

OMG! Angelina Jolie and babies makes for a great joke

Superbad deserves and Oscar. For real.

What? Someone whose name I can’t pronounce won best actress? Really? Definitely would have been okay with Linney, Page or Christie.

The girl who won sounds like Borat. “I thank you ‘love'” Ummm, the music should definitely come on when you start thanking concepts.

This is more about the sponsor of the Oscars, but though I love to make fun of JCPenney, I think I’m gonna have to check out their new line of clothes.

Here comes Once. I LOVE this song.

I love that song. To the extreme

There are so many movies I need to see. I’ve seen almost everything that’s won since 88. The few I haven’t seen have been because I didn’t want to (Shakespeare in Love and Lord of the Rings come to mind) but I need to go watch some of the older ones. Netflix time I guess.

Still can’t stop thinking about “Falling Slowly”. I’m renting Once this week.

I’d love to see the appraisal on Kidman’s necklace/scarf of diamonds.

OH NO….. BIRDS!

This guy is committed. He’s clearly inches from death. What is an honorary Oscar anyway? Is that like, “Oh sorry, you got shafted, so we’re gonna try to make up for it so you can be embarrassed by the fact that you’re 127 years old in front of millions of people”

“The Oscars, brought to you by JCPenney, We’re actually trying to make stuff you want to buy now.”

Kazakhstan got a nod for Mongol. Who knew that they actually, you know, had cameras

I gotta see Once.

Jon Stewart has such great comedic timing. The guy always cracks me up.

Charlie Wilson is on the stage!

I thought we were done with the shameless use of the military to play on the jingoism of Americans?

There is an SNL parody in the works for that short documentary director. The shaking and crying and mouth a-gape.

I meant to go see No End in Sight… need to rent it I guess.

I’m starting to feel like there’s no end in sight to the Oscars. Falling asleep.

I’m glad that Juno won, I’m not glad that Diablo Cody has no fashion sense.

Its an adjective-fest with the Queen. And again, like half of her dress is made of diamonds. How many Africans are dead so that our movie stars can be sparkly?

Ok, now I can go to bed. My first live blogging experience has been fun. I hope I was slightly humorous.

5 responses to “Live blogging the oscars

  1. In case you’re wondering, I’m listening to your liveblogging

  2. Well, good. I figured it might be something folks just checked out tomorrow. Now at least I know I’ve got one person paying attention.

  3. bagger's carpet boy

    Jack seems to be on coke. Colin Farrell is a hottie. Jon Stewart is mostly disappointing so far, though, no? Btw, what did you make of Francis Ford Coppola’s Youth Without Youth? It hasn’t gotten much play, but it’s a more engaging film than many of those being given awards tonight. Here’s an interesting discussion of the film.

  4. A bunch of Hollywood phonies patting each other on the back…..

    No Thanks.

    But I’m glad you liked it.

  5. P and C,

    I don’ t remember exactly what he said, but Jon Stewart touched on that in a joke. I laughed, but no one in the audience did.

Leave a Reply

