If you control the education system

you control the people. Tyranny is around the corner.

Money quote

“California courts have held that … parents do not have a constitutional right to homeschool their children,” Justice H. Walter Croskey said in the 3-0 ruling issued on Feb. 28.

“A primary purpose of the educational system is to train school children in good citizenship, patriotism and loyalty to the state and the nation as a means of protecting the public welfare,” the judge wrote, quoting from a 1961 case on a similar issue.

I’m not gonna lie. That talk about the purpose of the educational system being loyalty to the state scares the crap out of me.

6 responses to “If you control the education system

  1. I saw this today — very scary. If you made a list of what’s wrong with this country, the teacher’s union would be near the top of the list.

    I have little doubt that Clinton and Obama would be in favor of what this judge did. I wonder if their supports realize this?

  2. You folks need to accept that this is a state law issue. If you live in the state of California speak with your legislator about amending the law as it is written. This judge didn’t not give a bad interpretation of the law. He simply applied it as he read it. Read the state code here: http://law.justia.com/california/codes/edc/48220-48232.html
    The judge cites precedent from as early as 1953 upholding this law. Read the judges ruling here:
    http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/opinions/documents/B192878.PDF

    It’s not scary. It’s not communism and it’s not activist judges. If you live in California you can help to change the state law. If you don’t live there let the locals decide how best to educate their children.

  3. I saw this yesterday and couldn’t believe it, although I shouldn’t be surprised. Yes, it’s extremely scary. I’m glad I don’t (and won’t ever) have kids in school.

  4. I see it like Mike in the sense the bottom line is that the judge is enforcing the law. Do I think it’s best for anybody for kids to be kept home and taught by people with no training? Nope. Do I think folks should be forced to send there kids to school? Nope. Do I think an argument can be made that the teacher’s union does more harm than good these days? Yep, though I’m not sure I’m biting. Do I think P and C said something ridiculous when he claimed the the teacher’s union is one of the worst things wrong with this country. Absolutely.

  5. I tend to see this issue like Dan Carlin (check out his great podcast) in that the USA was built to allow the states to do things differently from each other in part as an incubation system so things could be tried in one state, but that you had the option to just go to another state if you didn’t like it.

    People tend to crap all over the school system, but have you people ever met anyone that was homeschooled? I haven’t met a homeschooled kid yet who wasn’t woefully unprepared to be a part in the real world.

    I went to a private school that my parents paid a lot of money for, and I ended up doing well for myself, but many of the kids there just screwed around and got a bad education. In the same way, many of the kids who went to public schools got great educations if they paid attention, and many others got bad educations because they didn’t. I don’t really buy the idea that the schools or the teachers’ union is to blame. I mostly blame parents who choose not to help their children understand the importance of learning.

  6. I guess my biggest problem is that schools shouldn’t be places of statist propaganda. And I think that banning homeschooling essentially says “we know best what your kids should be taught”

    And while there are many homeschooled kids who have social issues, a lot of that has to do with parents who don’t involve their kids in enough activities with other children. If you homeschool, you necessarily should make sure your kids are playing sports or involving themselves in things that force them to learn social behaviors. But again, it comes down to, in a free country, the government shouldn’t be able to tell me or anyone else what is the right thing to teach. That is dangerous.

    And I do agree with it being a state issue. My issue with this has more to do with the nature of schools, and its clear from this article that the state has a much different view of the purpose of education than do I.

Leave a Reply

