Capitalism vs Statism

Lew Rockwell sums it up….. (this is especially for you Jerry)

5 responses to “Capitalism vs Statism

  1. I love capitalism too… But because of my love for it, I’m willing to admit and try to correct it’s occasional flaws. I love my children, but that doesn’t mean I look past or ignore their flaws. I allow other forces to interact with them, so that it helps them improve.

    But capitalism never died for me. Nope, I love Jesus the most.

  2. Oh, and I’m definitely not a statist either… I’m a Christian. What are you? A capitalist?

  3. See, the way you frame your questions is what makes me see you as a troll, rather than someone looking for honest discussion.

    We are all capitalists if we are free people. Many don’t know it, but its true. Because capitalism is not a system set up with rules from the top down. Its how economies function when people are free to trade with others however they see fit.

    I am a follower of Christ first and foremost. Political freedoms may come and go. My ultimate freedom is in Christ, and that is where I derive my joy, my way of living, etc. I will continue to live the way I do, even in the face of tyrannical government. That being said, I still think the best situation for people is that they have the freedom to choose their own destiny, namely because that causes the most efficient use of resources available on the planet, which means that we are better stewards of the earth, and that more is available for more people. Now, can this system be abused? Yes. I think marketing can be an evil thing. Consumerism obviously is bad, and capitalism can foster greed and all sorts of things. But in “capitalism” or “free people” there is the possibility to help so many more people because wealth is being created rather than destroyed as in so many other systems. And we don’t have real economic freedom right now. We have a bastardized hybrid system that benefits the wealthy, powerful, and connected and harms those who don’t have a voice. Now, under this system, there is still a better chance for them to be able to break free from the bonds of the government and create their own destiny, but a government that is powerful enough to give you everything you need is also powerful enough to take everything you have. Ever seen a totalitarian country with the amount of wealth we have? or one where the poor have as many opportunities as our poor have? I don’t think so. There is a reason for that.

  4. Hey Jerry —

    Have you stopped beating your wife?

  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Historic.

Leave a Reply

