Just when you’d had enough of Al Gore

The Tennessee Center for Policy Research checks into his utility bills.

Here’s some highlights:

– U.S. average yearly household electricity consumption — 10,656 kilowatt-hours (kWh) per year

– Al Gore’s yearly energy consumption — nearly 221,000 kWh

– Al Gore’s Natural Gas bill per month — an average of 1,080 dollars PER MONTH!

Yep, that’s right global warming alarmist, and former Vice President Al Gore uses 2 times the national yearly average kWh’s per month.

Hmm.

20 responses to “Just when you’d had enough of Al Gore

  1. yes, but he offsets his carbon usage from his planes, trains, and automobiles with carbon credits. Cmon, is this the drudge report? Al Gore isn’t a luddite telling us to avoid technology and energy usage. He’s just saying take responsibility for it.

  2. Y,

    So you’ve jumped on the global warming bandwagon I see.

    If you get a chance, head over to easternuswx.com and check out the global warming forum. THe site has literally 200 some odd accredited meteorologists, and I would say a slight majority of them think that carbon dioxide from humans is far from teh sole cause of climate change. Very few are saying that we have no affect at all, but most believe that our effect is negligible at best. They are the scientists, so I listen to them.

    And the carbon credit thing is a big honkin’ load of crap. Its like saying “well, yeah, stealing is wrong, but I’ve got to do it, so I’ll just donate money to police stations to offset the fact that I’m breaking the law.”

    If Al Gore were willing to sacrifice his mansion in Belle Meade (and I believe he has several other residences. And I’d be willing to wager that they aren’t small, cost efficient places) to do his part to save the planet, then I might be willing to listen to him. However, his hypocrisy on this issue, combined with the glaring flaws in his movie, and his refusal to answer questions about them, I’m gonna go on promoting nuclear energy to clean the air rather than trying to shut down the economy.

    BTW, ManBearPig is coming. And Gore is serial. Totally serial.

  3. It seems that hypocrisy is the norm for most celebrity environmental activists.

    “Do what we say, not what we do!”

  4. Good post. I put some of it over on my blog, don’t worry I gave you credit.

  5. A slight majority? That’s down considerably from the 90% you mentioned on my blog a few days ago.

    Responding to Drudge’s attack, Vice President Gore’s office told ThinkProgress:

    1) Gore’s family has taken numerous steps to reduce the carbon footprint of their private residence, including signing up for 100 percent green power through Green Power Switch, installing solar panels, and using compact fluorescent bulbs and other energy saving technology.

    2) Gore has had a consistent position of purchasing carbon offsets to offset the family’s carbon footprint — a concept the right-wing fails to understand. Gore’s office explains:

    What Mr. Gore has asked is that every family calculate their carbon footprint and try to reduce it as much as possible. Once they have done so, he then advocates that they purchase offsets, as the Gore’s do, to bring their footprint down to zero.

  6. Scott, I like this quote: “try to reduce it as much as possible.”

    Is Gore doing this by living in a 20 room mansion?

    I have a LOT more understanding, though not agreement, with those who actually practice what they beleive in. Vegans are a great example of doing this.

  7. Honestly, I care a whole lot less about the defense of Al Gore than I do with pointing out that his inconsistencies do not mute the message of global warming. It’s a false correlation.

  8. Scott,perhaps then you can just address a few things for me. You know, help clear things up:

    1. It was warmer in the 1930s across the globe than it is right now.
    2. In 1974 scientists stated the atmosphere has been growing gradually cooler for the past three decades.
    3. What happened to the Medieval Warm Period? In 1996 the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change issued a chart showing climatic change over a period of 1000 years. This graph showed a Medieval warming period in which global temperatures were higher than they are today. In 2001 the IPCC issued another 1000 year graph in which the Medieval warming period was missing. Why?
    4. Why has one scientist promoting the cause of man-made global warming been quoted as saying “we have to get rid of the medieval warming period?”
    5. Why is the ice cap on the Antarctic getting thicker if the earth is getting warmer?

    Just a few questions for you…

  9. “Carbon footprint”

    Bwahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

  10. Roland, where are you getting those facts, because I don’t think a couple of them are true. Justin, I’m sad that you can’t see nuance in this. I’m certainly not on a bandwagon, nor am I calling for the shutdown of our economy to save the planet. Al Gore isn’t either. Responsible people, Al Gore and myself included, are saying that there is a fact that there is has been a dramatic change in the composition of our atmostphere due to higher levels of methane and carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, much more than has ever been in the history of the world. It’s the boy scout rule: leave it like you found it. Buying carbon credits is a small way to offset the carbon dioxide you produce, and it is practical, and it isn’t like giving the police money to offset your crime.

  11. Y, look ’em up. They are all out there and factual. I don’t do homework for other people.

    BTW, the whole buying credit things is a joke. That means that since people in Africa don’t drive, I can buy myself a couple of Hummers, right?

    I quote from above: “Bwahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!”

  12. Y, I will give you some help though on sources:

    Time Magazine, 1996 the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Enviromental studies 2005.

    For starters.

  13. While we’re throwing out facts, did you know that all lions are herbivores? I’m really not into doing homework for others either, but it was in the July 1986 National Geographic. Tell me I’m wrong.

    I like the completely factless attack on carbon credits. It’s refreshing.

    If I had solar panels on my roof that produce X kilowatt hours of energy during the month, and I happened to use exactly X kilowatt hours of energy during the month, my household carbon footprint would be zero.

    If a guy in texas has a field of solar panels and a bunch of windmills connected to the grid and sells the grid X kilowatt hours of power, and then I tell my power company that I want to pay a little bit more per kilowatt hour to buy green energy, and they sell me X kilowatt hours, then my carbon footprint is zero.

    Note that there is an open market for green power. As more is provided by those with the technology, the price goes down. As more is demanded by those who want it, the price goes up. There is a small margin in the middle for the power company, but that is one aspect of how the energy credit market works, at least as it relates to household power.

  14. If all the power comes from the same grid, how do you know you’re getting “green” power? Only when the power companies actually burn less coal will there be a true “carbon offset”. Now, if a person has solar panels on his own roof and/or a windmill or some other type of non-polluting generator for his own home, that is a true green home. I’m skeptical about the purchase of green power from the power companies – I mean honestly, how do you know you’re really getting clean energy? Trust the power company?

    And don’t get me wrong. I’m all for reducing pollution in our air, ground and water. But I personally believe that mankind is too insignificant a presence on this great globe to have a major effect on the climate system. Just my opinion.

  15. Y, where do you think those panels come from? How do they get there? Factories and trucks. Dirty air polluting factories and large gas guzzeling semi’s.

  16. of course. And the men who make and install such equipment drive cars, and get their haircut by barbers who heat their homes….but those costs are marginal compared to the energy harvested without pollution over the course of the equipment. What a dumbass argument against it.

    Having read the things I have said on this blog, and all the dumbass arguments you make against me, people are going to start thinking that you are really me trolling my own posts trying to make my posts look better.

  17. Y, you still never addressed the “dumbass” facts I presented above. Just take this one:

    3. What happened to the Medieval Warm Period? In 1996 the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change issued a chart showing climatic change over a period of 1000 years. This graph showed a Medieval warming period in which global temperatures were higher than they are today. In 2001 the IPCC issued another 1000 year graph in which the Medieval warming period was missing. Why?

  18. For anyone that’s done a modicum of research, the Medieval Warm Period is a myth based on several fase assumptions. First, there is a false correlation between the amount of precipitation as a measure of temperature. Also, the theory fails to distinguish between regional temperature differences and global temperature differences. Also, the theory says that the Medieval Warm Period was warmer than the 20th century, but that idea is based upon the misleading comparison of the 10th century versus all of the 20th century rather than the end of the 20th century when the warming occured (the early 20th century was relatively cool).

    Duh

  19. Have you heard that Gore is buying his “Carbon Credits” from himself? He owns the company he is buying from!!!

    What a joke!

  20. Hey have you heard that people are making shit up about Gore? Apparently, if you just say shit and get your buddy’s blog to pick it up, you don’t have to show any proof. Brilliant!

Leave a comment